Teal and White Wrapped Kitchen Utensil Holder

Supplies:

  • Glass Vase (Marshall’s) $4.99
  • Teal and White Twine (Dollar Tree) $1

Total: $5.99

Supplies Already on Hand:

  • Hot Glue Gun
  • About 10 glue sticks
  • Scissors

ImageBeing the thrifty (*ahem* cheap, poor) person I am, I bought some cheap utensils from Marshall’s for my kitchen.  The downside was that I had nowhere to put them.  I decided to just grab a cheap vase to stick them in.  On a visit to the dollar store I saw this really cute teal and white twine.  I didn’t know what I was going to do with it, but I figured I’d find some way to use it.  And voila the idea for the wrapped kitchen utensil holder came in.  It was a really simple project and I finished in about 30 minutes or so.

The first wrap was the hardest.  On mine it ended up being a bit uneven.  Then it’s just a matter of gluing and wrapping your way around the vase.  Some tips:  if you care about your table, put something under your glue gun and vase.  Maybe you’re neater than me but I got glue strings and globs all over the place.  Also, if you skip gluing more than about half an inch of vase, the twine won’t lay right.  Another tip is to not lay the glue on too thick.  I thin layer will do.  Too thick and the glue gushes out the side.  It also would have been helpful to have had a lighter on hand to burn the ends of the twine.  I just hot glued them together and twisted the glue in with my fingers, which is a bit unpleasant feeling.  I think burning the ends would have worked better.

I ran out of twine by the end and left the top inch or so unwrapped.  For another dollar I could finish it off, but I actually don’t mind the glass left alone at the top.  But what is your honest opinion.  Does it look cool or does it look unfinished?  Please let me know in the comments!

About CraftyMaddi

I combat being bored and broke with being crafty and thrifty. I'm a self proclaimed beach bum from Florida who loves animals, football and pina coladas. I like to upcycle, refurbish and create. I make jewelry, knit and super glue stuff together. =) Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Home Decor and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Teal and White Wrapped Kitchen Utensil Holder

  1. bfields1031 says:

    This is very cool!

Leave a comment