Dollar Store Vase Makeover

I see all kinds of posts with hand painted vases and I wanted to give it a try.  I have to admit it was my second attempt that turned out good, but I’ll give you guys some good tips so you don’t make the same mistakes I did!  In the end though, I’m very happy with how it turned out.

Image

Supplies:

  • Glass Vase $1 (Dollar Tree)
  • Sisal Twine $1 (Dollar Tree)

Total Cost: $2

Supplies already on hand:

  • Blue Acrylic Paint (Originally around $2)
  • Sponge Brush (Originally $1)
  • Super Glue

Step 1: Paint the vase by pouring paint inside.  Start from the bottom and use the sponge brush to gently drag the paint over the glass, leaving a thick coat.  Don’t use a lot of pressure with the brush, you don’t want to paint the vase, as much as just spread the paint around.  It took me about 1/3 – 1/2 of the bottle of paint and I did about 2 coats and some touch ups.  When you get to the rim of the vase, don’t worry about perfection.  Once you get the paint on, you can go back with some cotton balls dipped in water or nail polish remover, and clean up the paint around the edge.

Step 2: Wrap the twine around the vase in your preferred location.  Originally, I wanted to hot glue the twine around the inside lip of the vase and down the front to the thinnest point of the vase’s neck. That did just not work for me.  The twine was difficult to work with, the hot glue looked terrible and I was not happy.  So I ended up ripping that off, which ripped off a big chunk of paint, which required me to go back and paint again.  I ended up just wrapping it like you can see in the picture and tying the ends of the twine in a bow, so it is not attached to the glass at all.  I think I will probably end up dabbing a little bit of super glue on and securing the ends to the vase so that it doesn’t get loose and doesn’t look twisted.

Another helpful tip:  Originally I planned on spray painting the vase.  I find spray paint fun and easy.  Well I can tell you that that was a mistake.  Even though the paint was made to adhere to glass it was uneven and unattractive.  It also started to crack after a couple days and just looked terrible.  So I suggest sticking to acrylic paint from the inside.

The only thing I’m not entirely happy about is that from the top, looking down the paint looks uneven inside the lip of the vase.  Which is why originally I wanted to twine wrap the entire top.  But I’m not sure what to do about that.  Maybe I’m just not good enough with a paint brush haha.

About CraftyMaddi

I combat being bored and broke with being crafty and thrifty. I'm a self proclaimed beach bum from Florida who loves animals, football and pina coladas. I like to upcycle, refurbish and create. I make jewelry, knit and super glue stuff together. =) Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Home Decor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment