Hand Painted Chevron Clutch Purse

I love chevrons, as you may well know, and I also happen to love purses. Clutches are great when you only need a few items for the evening, so I decided to make this fun clutch in my favorite color combo: aqua, gray and yellow!  Check out the before and after.

ImageSupplies:

  • White Clutch: $1.60 from a thrift store!
  • FolkArt Acrylic Paints (Dove Gray, Lemon Custard and Coastal Blue): $6
  • FolkArt Acrylic Textile Medium: $3
  • FolkArt Artists Varnish Gloss: $5
  • Foam Paint Brushes (4 Pack): $1
  • Painter’s Tape: $5.29

Total Cost: $21.89

Supplies Already on Hand:

  • Nail polish remover
  • Cotton Balls
  • Cotton Swabs

ImageStep 1: Clean the clutch.  If you go the route I did and upcycle a thrift store clutch, chances are it will need a good cleaning.  Soap and water would probably work just fine, but I started with some nail polish removed on cotton balls to really get those stains out.  Then let it dry completely before beginning.

Step 2: Tape off your pattern.  I chose this cute chevron pattern and made the stripes 1″ wide, the width of my tape and of my brushes.  I found it easiest to make a pattern out of cardboard in order to get the lines even and straight.  I used an old plastic bag that my bedding came in to protect my pretty painted surfboard inspired table!

1, 2, 3 Coats of Paint

1, 2, 3 Coats of Paint

Step 3: Paint, paint, paint.  It’s important to mix your acrylic with a fabric medium so that it will be flexible enough for the purse.  The brand I used suggested a 2:1 ratio.  After mixing, I painted on the layers with the foam brushes I got.  I did 3 layers, waiting one hour in between each coat.  Pretty simple and fun.

Step 4: Remove the tape.  Take it slow and careful and make sure your paint is fully dry.  I waited 24 hours before removing the tape.  The paint still had a tacky feel to it and my lines didn’t come out perfect, so I took a cotton swab, dipped it in nail polish remover and cleaned up the lines.  I also had to touch up one spot of paint.

Step 5: Varnish.  The varnish helps protect it from physical damage and sun bleaching.  It also gives it a glossy look and leaves no tackiness.  It’s not perfect, but I’m pretty happy with the final product.

Image

$21.89 might seem like a lot to start a project (for a cheapo like me anyways) however, there is a ton of paint left over for other projects.  Like this trivet I painted that I thrifted for under $3.

hand painted trivet before and after

About CraftyMaddi

I combat being bored and broke with being crafty and thrifty. I'm a self proclaimed beach bum from Florida who loves animals, football and pina coladas. I like to upcycle, refurbish and create. I make jewelry, knit and super glue stuff together. =) Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Clothing and Accessories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment