Crappy to Cute Coffee Table

Supplies:
– Used Coffee Table: $7
– Sanding Sponges: $9
– Spray Paint, Clear Coat and Primer: $11
– Pin Striping and Vinyl Flower: Free!
Total Cost: $27

Coffee Table Before and After

I am doing this whole retro/beach theme in my new apartment and I am in love with this surfboard coffee table, however I don’t have $400 lying around to buy it. So when I saw this little black coffee table on Craigslist for $7 I knew I had to have it. Craigslist is my best friend for cheap used stuff.  It was a great shape and the PERFECT size for my tiny living room. It was old, had lots of dings and even had “Nick was here” carved into the wood veneer (thanks a lot Nick!)

Step One: Sanding. I positively hate sand paper, so when I saw these nifty sanding sponges at Home Depot. I decided to give them a try. I bought one course, one medium and one fine grit sponge and they worked wonders. They’re easy to hold and use, get the job done and I’ll get plenty more uses out of them. Sanding the veneer got black dust everywhere, but all those dings and even the carving were easy to sand down. My arm didn’t even get sore.

Step two: Priming Time. I used Rust-Oleum spray primer from Lowes for like $3-4. I took the table in my garage, opened the door and went to town on the table. At the same time I primed an end table I got from a thrift store for $5 that I’m going to use to hold my record player. The can of spray primer was just enough to cover both completely. Now, after priming, my arm was sore. Incredibly sore. I have a carpal tunnel problem that made it worse I’m sure, but my hand was spasming after that.

Step Three: Painting. I could have painted shortly after priming, but work and the flu made me wait a couple of days. At this point I moved the table to my parent’s shop, where I had much more garage space to paint. One can of Krylon Island Splash spray paint was able to do the job (and the top of my end table.) This paint I had to buy at Joann’s. Yes, HAD to. I wouldn’t normally recommend buying paint at Joann’s since it’s so expensive, but no hardware store in the area carries that color. Lucky for me, I have the nifty Joann’s app on my phone and had a 50% coupon, so it only cost $4. Not bad at all.

Step 4: Vinyl. This is where it’s fortunate that my family owns a signs and graphics company. I was able to have the hibiscus flower custom designed and cut for me from vinyl for free. I also got the pinstriping for free, and got to use one of my parent’s employees (who is also a friend) to help me apply them. I am a crafty person, but not at all artistic. My hands are about as steady as an earthquake and I knew I wouldn’t be able to lay the pinstripe straight. So thankfully someone was there to help.

Step 5: Finishing Touch. Since this was going to be my coffee table, I had to protect it. I know on game day people would be setting cold beers and hot food and who knows what else on my table. I would have liked to use a polyurethane or lacquer or some other protective coating, but we weren’t sure how it would react with the vinyl, so I used Krylon’s regular ol’ clear coat to protect it. I sprayed it on and in about 30 minutes, I had a pretty awesomesaucy new table.

About CraftyMaddi

I combat being bored and broke with being crafty and thrifty. I'm a self proclaimed beach bum from Florida who loves animals, football and pina coladas. I like to upcycle, refurbish and create. I make jewelry, knit and super glue stuff together. =) Thanks for stopping by!
This entry was posted in Custom Furniture Pieces and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Crappy to Cute Coffee Table

  1. Eileen B. says:

    That table is great!

  2. Pingback: Custom Bookcase Creation: A Project with Many Lessons Learned « Crafty Maddi

  3. Pingback: Boring Ikea Bed Makeover |

  4. Pingback: Hand Painted Chevron Clutch Purse | Crafty Maddi

Leave a Reply

